That Sucky First Draft

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again. I’m a lousy writer, but a great re-writer.

Which is why I finally got inspired enough to power through this first draft of my newest WIP. Nope, not there yet. But I’m much farther along than I was last month. At the risk of alienating my co-workers (who like to go to lunch as a group), I’ve begun grabbing lunch and sitting in my favorite little meeting breakout area. I can get in a half hour in the morning, and if it doesn’t take the cafeteria folk long to prepare my lunch, I can get close to an hour in then.

The research, as usual, is hellish, but I think that’s kind of why I write what I write. Actually, now that I think of it, that’s definitely it. I get off on it. You heard me. I’m a big ole show-off. So there ya go.

My husband, a wonder of a fellow with a goofy sense of humor, and an identical love of books and coffee as me, discovered a wonderful new coffeehouse near our place, and we’ve been going there on Sundays so I can write, and he can draw on his computer tablet. Yes, the salted caramel lattes are also a draw.

So it appears that I’ve finally gotten beyond the winter doldrums that hit me like a Mack truck in November every year. Spring takes far longer to get here to Edmonton, but I feel like that light at the end of the tunnel is approaching. And I don’t hear any train whistles.

Leave a Reply

